Think auto insurance has to be expensive? Think again! There are ways to keep your car insurance affordable and still have high quality service and good coverage. One of the ways to make sure you are getting the most economical policy is to work with an insurance broker like PA Auto Insurance Outlet instead of an insurance agent.
Another is to have an understanding of what types and minimum amounts of insurance you are actually required to have as a motorist in the state of Pennsylvania.
There are two major types of auto insurance you are required to have if are a driver in PA: the first is bodily injury and property damage, and the second is your medical expenses. Here’s an explanation of each, along with the minimum requirements:
Bodily injury and property damage
Insurance for bodily injury and property damage covers you for the expenses that can result if you cause an accident and someone is injured and needs medical care, or if repairs need to be made to property you damaged during an accident. In Pennsylvania, you are required to carry a minimum of $15,000 per person or $30,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $5000 for property damage.
Your medical expenses
Pennsylvania is somewhat unique when it comes to this type of insurance. It’s what’s referred to as a “no fault” state, which means you are required by law to carry insurance to cover your own medical expenses if you are injured in an accident, no matter whose fault it is. This type of insurance is referred to as “first party benefits,” and PA is one of only 12 states in the country to make it mandatory. Drivers in PA must carry a minimum of $5000 in coverage per accident for first party benefits.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage
Many states also require drivers to carry insurance for uninsured and underinsured motorists. This gives you coverage in case you are in an accident caused by someone who does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance. Pennsylvania does not require drivers to carry this type of insurance, but there is a little hitch: If you don’t want to buy coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists, you have to opt out of it by requesting that in writing.
If you do not send a written request to opt out, there is a minimum requirement that you will have to abide by as a PA driver, which is $15,000 per person, or $30,000 per accident.
Are you wondering how to find an auto insurance policy that makes sure you meet the legal requirements for the state of Pennsylvania, but also still meets your budget with affordable premiums? Contact PA Auto Insurance Outlet today to talk with an insurance broker who will learn about your needs and give you customized options that work for you!